Miss Ena Makin, our founder, established the school on VE Day, 8th May 1945 in a house on Granville Road. She chose the Dove of Peace and Churchill’s victory sign as the school crest.
By 1957 the expansion of the school necessitated a move to its present location in Bradbourne Park Road. At this time Miss Makin’s niece, Miss Maureen Froggatt, took over as Headmistress, though Miss Makin continued to play an active part in the school until her death in 2001. On the retirement of Miss Froggatt in 1990, Mrs Jane Evans became Headmistress and was Headmistress of Granville until her retirement in 2008. Mrs Jane Scott, the current Headmistress, succeeded Mrs Evans in 2008. Although Miss Froggatt does not live in Sevenoaks, she is keenly interested in the school through her role as a ‘Member’, helping us to maintain links with our past traditions.
Today the school is set in five acres of garden and woodland close to Sevenoaks station. Since 1966 the school has been an educational charitable trust and is administered by a board of members and governors, all of whom have personal links with the school either by being a past or current parent or an old girl. The Headmistress is a member of the Independent Association of Prep Schools (IAPS).
The school continues to maintain its Christian principles and traditional values whilst providing up to date excellence in modern teaching methods. The Granville is a school that moves with the times whilst preserving its unique traditions and values.